Become a Life Member

life 01The DeKalb Federation's Life Membership program began in 1994 to benefit the Garden Center's Endowment Fund. The charter members, 27 women, implemented the Life Membership Program to ensure the future existence of the Garden Center. From these 27 charter members, Life Membership has grown to more than 300 members. Life Membership is a way of recognizing those who have made valuable contributions in gardening or garden club work. Non-garden club persons (such as friends, speakers or county officials) are also eligible, and memorials are encouraged as well. Even garden clubs can join the Life Membership Program. Include $50 in your annual garden club budget for honoring someone with a Life Membership.

The one-time, $50.00 tax-deductible donation entitles the Life Member to receive a copy of annual programs and newsletters, as well as the opportunity to attend informative Federation meetings. All proceeds from Life Memberships now go to support the Garden Club of Georgia Scholarship Fund.

Click here for the Life Membership form

life 02The Charter Life Members:
Frances Bowen
Alice Boyd
Hermine Brewer *
Rosa Capps
Belva Cleveland *
Ruth Combs *
Rita Compher *
Wilma Coney
Rachel Fowler *
Jean Givens *
Joyce Green
Betty Grimes
Janice Hollis
Kathryn Lane
Margaret Lloyd
Lorraine Loftis *
Mary Lovings
Deanna McFarlan
Eva Mullin *
Jackie Payne *
Deen Day Sanders
Margaret Strickland *
Joy Stuart
Betty Thompson *
Joan Thornton *
Irene Warren *
Carolyn Waters*

* deceased Life Members

All Life members of the DCFGC will be recognized annually at the February General Meeting. At this time, the Federation's 'Life Member of the Year' will be announced.

Selection Process for the 'Life Member of the Year':
The Board of Directors of The DeKalb County Federation of Garden Clubs, Inc. will annually select the Life Member of the Year. This process will begin with three nominations fro the Board, followed by a secret ballot vote. The Life Membership Chairman and the Council President shall count the votes, and the nominee with the greatest number of votes shall be chosen as the Life Member of the Year. When considering nominations for the Life Member of the Year, the Board will take into account the following parameters: 1. The nominee must be a Life Member in the Federation; 2. The nominee must demonstrate dedication to the Federation and its mission.

Life Members of the Year:

2003 *Rachel Fowler
2004 *Joan Thornton
2005 *Rita Compher
2006 Rigby Duncan
2007 Frances Bowen
2008 Margaret Lloyd
2009 Deanna McFarlan
2010 Mickie Holton
2011 Joy Zaidan
2012 *Edith Morton
2013 Lorene Falkenberry and Vivian Yancey
2014 Diane Hunter
2015 *Betty Thompson
2016 *Lorraine Loftis
2017 Sandy Suggs
2018 Joanne Bennett
2019 Ann Purr
2020 Glenndolyn Hallman
2021 Quill Duncan
2022 Sandy Reed
2023 Susan Turner
2024 Gale Thomas

Sorry, this website uses features that your browser doesn’t support. Upgrade to a newer version of Firefox, Chrome, Safari, or Edge and you’ll be all set.